Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

New Beginnings

Posted by Ben on October 16, 2011

There have been a lot of changes in my life recently…some good, some not so good. But, I guess that’s the way life goes.  I remembered that writing in this blog used to be really cathartic for me, so I’ve decided to try to get back into it.  I’ve had a lot of time over the past few weeks to do some heavy thinking, and come to the realization that I’ve been given a chance at a fresh start.

I’ve finally started grad school at the University of Oregon, which has been an interesting experience so far.  I’m both taking graduate level courses and teaching my own section of Precalculus. It’s a lot of work, and I find myself spending most of my time in class, doing homework, or preparing lectures.  And while I have reaffirmed my love of math over the past few weeks, I’m still glad that I can find time for some of the other things that I love doing.

The last few Friday nights, I’ve been going out salsa dancing at a club about four blocks down the road from my apartment. After a week full of math, it’s nice to be able to just let go on a Friday night and have a good time dancing.  I definitely miss everyone from SalsaTech back in Blacksburg, but have met a bunch of interesting people at this new venue, including some really good dancers. One of the things we always stressed at SalsaTech was that the best way to get better was to dance with as many people as possible, so I see this as a way of doing just that.

I’ve also been trying to take breaks during the weekends and explore the areas around Eugene. It’s nice to be able to just get away and get out into the wilderness. Here are a few pictures I’ve taken over the last three weeks or so:

The following two are from last weekend, and, in my opinion, are some of the best shots I’ve taken in a long time:

2 Responses to “New Beginnings”

  1. K'Nex said

    Hey! Glad to see you’re starting this up again, and these are some amazing shots! Way too beautiful out there.

    I want to come out and visit the West Coast and you sometime (like next Spring/Summer). (Super early heads-up)

    -K

Leave a Reply

 
