Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

Salt Creek Falls

Posted by Ben on August 6, 2010

The past week here in Corvallis has been a rough one.  I’ve been battling illness, eventually finding out it was Strep throat, and haven’t been able to talk since Monday.  Luckily, it was caught early and I’m starting to feel a lot better at this point.  We’ve also been struggling to put together a rough draft of our final research paper for the summer, which is already over 45 pages at this point.  So, I haven’t had much time for taking or writing about pictures, and next week might be even more hectic preparing for our final presentation.

This picture, as the title might lead you to believe, is of Salt Creek Falls, the second highest waterfall in Oregon.  Leanne and I stopped here on a whim during our long drive out to Crater Lake two weeks ago.  We didn’t know anything about it when we pulled in, and were pleasantly surprised with what we found.  The waterfall was gorgeous, and the hike from the top down to this vantage point was very pleasant.

I mentioned in an earlier post that I’m getting a lot of experience photographing waterfalls on this trip.  Every time I do, I’m glad to have the neutral density filter.  I guess most of the falls are in the shadow in this shot, but it’s still a fairly bright scene.  Using the ND filter and an ISO of 80, I was able to get the shutter speed slowed down to 1.3 seconds.  The leaves in the bottom left are a little blown out, but I think that’s a small price to pay in this situation.

In other news, I’ve got my trip back across the country planned out.  I’ll be driving from Corvallis back to Blacksburg in about five and a half days.  It doesn’t really leave a whole lot of time for sightseeing along the way, but that’s alright.  I did find someone willing to come with me and help with the driving, so luckily it won’t just be me alone in the car for 8-9 hours each day.

-Ben

One Response to “Salt Creek Falls”

  1. Great shot! Glad you’re feeling better.

Leave a Reply

 
