Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

Archive for July 9th, 2010

Distant Hills

Posted by Ben on July 9, 2010

This picture comes from a trip I recently took to the summit of Mary’s Peak a little ways West of Corvallis.  We tried to time it so that we made it to the top around the time the sun was going down.  Unfortunately, however, the top of the mountain was shrouded in clouds when we got there, and you couldn’t really see the sun, or much of the surrounding countryside.  It was a really cool experience though, it’s not often that you find yourself inside a cloud.  After a quick picnic at the top, we decided to come back down to escape the surprisingly chilly winds.

I took this picture from the path as we were getting close to the parking lot.  I really loved the silhouette of the trees in the late evening light, and the fact that you could see through them at some points.  Wanting to get as much of the orange coloring as I could, I bumped the exposure down to -2EV.  It turned out really nicely, and I’m glad that I included a little bit of the cloud cover at the top of the picture.  I didn’t notice the hills in the background when I originally took the shot, but I really like the misty, distant look.

Sorry for the delay between posts here, a lot has been going on in the last week or so.  First of all, the pace of the research is really picking up as we all kinda figure out just what it is that we’re doing.  The long weekend of the 4th was great.  I found a place down in Eugene to go salsa dancing that Friday night, and plan to go back this week.  We went down to downtown Corvallis several times over the weekend, checking out the farmer’s market on Saturday and then live music and fireworks on Sunday.

There’s plenty more to tell, but it’s getting late, and I need some sleep…

-Ben

Posted in Landscapes, Photography | Tagged: , , , , | Leave a Comment »