Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

Cliffs

Posted by Ben on June 29, 2010

This picture comes from a stop during my road trip somewhere in Wyoming between Lander and the Tetons.  I remember coming around a bend in the road following the river (which you can kinda make out in the right side of the picture) and being shocked at the contrast of colors between the cliffs and the sky.  Luckily, there was a turnout where I could stop and snap a few photos.  It’s neat to be able to see the different layers in the rock, and to see how they come up at an angle.

We’re a week into the REU program here in Corvallis, and things are going amazingly well.  All of the people in the program are incredibly nice, both the other students and the faculty.  I get the feeling that we’ve all grown pretty close to each other in a very short amount of time.  We’re currently in the process of narrowing down research topics for the rest of the summer, and we’ll be giving short presentations later this week about those topics.

Last week, I stumbled onto an advertisement for a live swing band playing in downtown Corvallis this past Friday.  I was able to talk two of the REU students into going with me, and I think we all had a blast.  Saturday morning, a group of us went for a hike which was fun as well.

-Ben

Leave a Reply

 
