Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

Prickly

Posted by Ben on June 21, 2010

I haven’t had a whole lot of time for photography since arriving here in Corvallis, so here’s another one of my favorite photos from my recent road trip.  This one was taken on a ridge overlooking the Cedar Bluff Reservoir in Kansas.

The photo was shot using the super macro feature on my camera, which automatically fixes the focal length and zoom for the shot.  Because of that, I sometimes have a hard time getting the correct part of the picture the right distance from the camera and properly in focus.  This one turned out really well though.  The flower and the stem both seem to be nicely in focus.  Shooting in this manner also results in the nice blurred background.  I like that you are still able to make out a few of the other shapes really nicely though, especially the flower to the immediate right of the stem of the main one and the partial bloom on the upper right side.  I also like that I was able to get part of the horizon and the lake in the shot as well.  It’s hard to tell that the shot was taken on a ridge probably 150 above the surface of the lake, but the dark blue color adds nicely to the shot I think.

The first day of the REU went really well.  We had an introductory meeting this morning, followed by a brief campus tour.  In the afternoon, we had our first lecture from one of the professors leading a research group for the summer.

-Ben

Leave a Reply

 
