Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

Going Up

Posted by Ben on June 15, 2010

So, after spending the last couple of days driving across the middle of the country, I finally made it to the Rocky Mountains.  My first view came after driving west from Fort Morgan for about an hour.  From there, I followed highway 287 north alongside the mountains.  Right before the Wyoming state line, there was a rest stop with a big natural area beside it.  I walked around a little to stretch my legs, and as I was getting back into the car, I noticed a chipmunk behind one of the tables.  The 20x zoom on the Powershot let me get a pretty good picture without having to get too close.  I also got pictures of a few prairie dogs that were in the same field.

Once I got into Wyoming, I got on I-80, heading west again through the mountains.  It was a very windy stretch of road, and the scenery was great.  From one of the rest stops along the highway, I had an awesome view of Elk Mountain, though the top of the mountain was covered in clouds

After a while, I turned back on highway 287, heading northwest across Wyoming.  There were some more snow-covered peaks along the way, but for the most part, it was a flat, straight road that took me all the way to Lander, Wy.

Tomorrow I head up through Yellowstone, so hopefully the weather will be nice.

-Ben

One Response to “Going Up”

  1. E Reid M said

    If this chipmunk isn’t a winner there never was one. Are you just naturally a nature attracter?

Leave a Reply

 
