Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

On the Road

Posted by Ben on June 12, 2010

The three pictures above are from my current roadtrip, and all were taken today in Kansas.

The top one is an effect I’ve used before, taking a picture of the sky reflected in the roof of my car.  The colors came out nicely, and I like the way the slight curve to the roof of the car alters the picture.

The second shot is of a small cabin in a field that was visible from one of the rest stops along I-70 in Kansas.  I had originally stopped to take a picture of a few of the wind turbines that could be seen from the road, but they couldn’t be seen very well from the rest stop.

The third is from this evening, where I spent about half an hour trying to take pictures of the lightning in a distant storm.  This was probably my best shot from the night, but unfortunately, the storm was very far away, so most of the flashes were very small.  In addition, I had to shoot towards the highway, which resulted in the blob and streaks of light along the ground (this was a 64 second exposure shot through the ND filter).

The trip has been going really well so far.  I spent Wednesday night in Blacksburg and was able to go salsa dancing with some friends.  There was a group of about seven of us who all went out for dinner beforehand as well.  It was good to see a lot of familiar faces at the dance and around town.

On Thursday, I drove through West Virginia and Kentucky, spending the night with a couple of friends in Louisville.  They were kind enough to cook a really nice dinner and put me up in one of their guest rooms for the night.  We also had a chance to catch up and to play a couple of board games as well.

Friday was pretty uneventful.  I drove from Louisville through southern Indiana and Illinois, and eventually into Missouri.  I spent the night in Columbia, but I was too tired when I got there to really do anything.

I got up pretty early this morning and set out to the west along I-70.  I drove through the rest of Missouri and about half of Kansas, stopping for the night in Russell.

Tomorrow, I head out for Fort Morgan, Colorado, where hopefully the landscape will be a little more interesting.

-Ben

One Response to “On the Road”

  1. E Reid M said

    Speaking of Nature, notice similarity between June 12 lightning from distant storm and June 15 lightning-like snow streaks on Elk Mountain

Leave a Reply

 
