Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

Looking West

Posted by Ben on May 24, 2010

This is another picture from my adventures on the academic side of campus before leaving this past semester.  The shot is of the setting sun seen through one of the glass pyramids in the courtyard behind Burruss.  This is another shot I was lucky to notice as I was walking past.  All I noticed at first was a slightly discolored shadow against the back of the building behind me, so I turned around and knelt down in order to get this shot.  I played around with the exposure a good amount before finding the setting I really liked.  This one got a good amount of color in the illuminated glass, but didn’t blow out the sky or the clouds.  I also really like the solid dark silhouettes of the buildings around the edges of the picture, especially the one in the top right corner.

I’ve spent a good portion of the last few days planning my trip out to Oregon for next month.  I was able to work in stopping to see a couple of friends along the way, and also to give myself some time to sight see once I make it further west.  I’ll be spending a night in Yellowstone and two nights in Glacier, which I’m really looking forward to.  I’m hoping that all of the roads and trails in Glacier are cleared by the time I make it there.  Here’s a link to my current travel plans, which are subject to change as we get closer to my departure date:

Map

I’m also very excited about the research program I’ll be attending.  As I said before, I really enjoyed the research I’ve done this past semester, and it will be nice to experience it in a slightly different branch of mathematics and at a different university.

-Ben

Leave a Reply

 
