Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

Getting Away

Posted by Ben on March 8, 2010

Spring break is finally here!  I got up pretty early on Saturday morning, packed and headed out of Blacksburg for about a week.  Not being in a rush, I took a much more scenic way back home, though it ended up only taking about 15 minutes longer than usual.  It’s nice to get off of the highway and drive through the mountains and all of the small towns along the way.  The weather was beautiful as well, and the day was the warmest in recent memory.

We had another beautiful day here in NC yesterday and my parents and I went to the zoo down in Asheboro.  We had a really good time, and I ended up with a couple of really nice pictures, some of which will end up here I’m sure.

This one was taken near the end of the day at the elephant exhibit.  I really like the way the colors turned out in this shot.  I was using my polarizing filter since it was so bright, and it definitely helped with the nice blue of the sky.  I also like the orangish-yellow look to the rocks in the pond.  The elephant in the distance is a nice addition to the shot.  I wish it had been a little closer, because when I zoomed in on it, I lost the pond and the sky from the picture.

-Ben

Leave a Reply

 
