Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

From the Road

Posted by Ben on February 17, 2010

Well, I think my interview this morning went well.  It was a lot quicker than I thought it would be though,and I find myself with several hours to kill in the DFW airport.  So, in honor of my post from the road, here’s a picture from somewhere that’s not Blacksburg for a change.

This photo is from my trip to Rome this past summer and was taken on the steps of the monument to Italian Unification (or as we called it, the Wedding Cake).  Unfortunately, they were closing down the monument for the day when I got there, so I wasn’t able to wander around too much.

I have always liked this shot, and have been meaning to put it up here and take a closer look at it for a while.  First of all, I really like the angle for this shot.  Getting the standing soldier in profile is pretty cool, and it seems to add depth to it since you can see the crouching soldier is clearly in front of him.  The way the shadows fall is also really cool.  I do remember intentionally setting up the clouds in this shot so that they would be behind the statue, and it turned out really nicely.  It kinda looks like the statue might have been carved out of the clouds themselves.


My flights yesterday were fairly uneventful, but I did see two really cool things out the side windows.  On the way from Roanoke to Charlotte, I was able to see the sun setting from above the clouds.  The entire horizon glowed a really deep orange and red, lightening the farther up you looked, and eventually turning into a deep dark blue.  The second was on the flight from Charlotte to Dallas.  As we were taking off from Charlotte, I noticed the moon off to the left of the plane.  It was incredibly low in the sky and seemed bigger than normal.  It also had a light orangish tint to it.  The coolest part, however, was that it was an incredibly thin crescent moon last night and it was turned so that the arc of the moon was straight down.  The image that came to me almost immediately was that of the Chesire cat from Alice in Wonderland.  It was also cool because the tiny sliver of moon also reflected off of the wing of the plane as well.

I’ve always noticed that people in airports and on airplanes always seem really tense and on edge.  Part of it is probably just worrying about making it to their gate and hoping the airline doesn’t lose their baggage.  But, especially when I was making my way through the Charlotte airport, it seemed like I was hit with a wave of stress and anxiety from all of the people around it.  There were people racing down the moving sidewalks trying to find their flight.  Now, I didn’t have a whole lot of time between my flights, only about 30 minutes, but I felt like that was enough and didn’t feel the need to run or worry too much.

It reminded me of a post I wrote last year about the need for us to slow our lives down some times.  People are so concerned about where they are going that they lose sight of the things around them.  Seeing those things from the plane served to remind me of this and left me feeling both calm and peaceful.  I wish I had had my camera with me for them, but oh well, I had to pack lightly for this trip and completely forgot about it.

Well, my laptop battery is about to die, so I’ll cut it off there.

-Ben

3 Responses to “From the Road”

  1. kseverny said

    Omg this is excellent

  2. At first glance I thought your first picture was a wave cresting. “Wow! That’s huge!” I thought. Nice pictures of mountains.

Leave a Reply

 
