Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

Still Alive

Posted by Ben on January 24, 2010

I know it’s been a while since I put any pictures up here.  The first week of classes has been a busy one, getting used to a new schedule and running back and forth across campus to get signatures for various forms.  And while it has been hectic, it’s also been a lot of fun.  I went to my first swing dance two fridays ago and had a blast.  I’ve been downtown several times, twice to see live music at the Cellar, and a couple of times to just hang out and catch up with friends.  We had our first salsa massive Wednesday and had a great crowd come out.  We also went to an event in Roanoke last night at the Jefferson Center.  They had a live band performing latin music and a nice big dance floor.

It’s probably a little too early to tell, but all of my classes seem like they are going to work out for the semester.  I ended up adding three hours of research with a math professor that I’ve had classes with before.  I’m still not entirely sure exactly what I’ll be doing, but I think it’ll be a good experience for me.  So, with the exception of the nasty ice storm we had the other day, things are going very well so far this semester.  Hopefully, things will settle down a bit this week and I’ll have time to both shoot some new pictures and post them here.

I took the pictures below on my way back to Tech at the beginning of the semester.  I found myself on Scenic Highway 52 heading north through Virginia and ended up back at the Big Walker Mountain Lookout Tower that I visited during fall semester.  Unfortunately I got there just slightly after they closed for the day, so I couldn’t go to the top of the tower.  I did get a few nice shots though.  The clouds that afternoon were pretty cool, and it was nice to see all of the snow on the ground.

-Ben

Leave a Reply

 
