Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

Against the Odds

Posted by Ben on January 7, 2010

This picture comes from a walk I took with my parents and uncle a few weeks ago along the greenway near our house.  The path in this area is a giant wooden walkway over some wetlands.  We saw a bunch of wildlife there, including a couple of great blue herons and even a deer along the banks.  What really caught my eye, however, were the stumps coming up out of the water like this one, with baby trees growing from their tops.  This was by no means the only example, just the one whose picture turned out the best.

There’s not a whole lot to say about the picture artistically.  I switched the camera to the “vivid colors” mode, which brought out more of the reddish-brown coloring of the tree and helped show the color of the late day sun on the stump.  Composition-wise, I like the way this turned out.  I think the somewhat choppy water makes for a nice background for this shot.

It just seems strange to think that a tree could take root on such an isolated spot, but it clearly has (you can even see its roots digging into the stump).  I mean, what are the odds of a seed just happening to settle on the top of the stump, or perhaps it was deposited there by a bird or something else.  But despite all of that, it did, and it seems to be doing well.

As I mentioned before, my winter break is rapidly coming to a close.  Right now, I’m planning on heading back to Blacksburg next Thursday, giving me a couple of days to relax there before jumping back into classes.  While I definitely enjoy being home and being with my family during breaks, it’s pretty much inevitable that I start feeling restless towards the end of them.  I guess I start thinking about all of the things that I want to do and the people I want to see again when I get back and then realize that its still over a week away.

It also seems like the time when I think about all of the things that I want to do differently the next semester, having hopefully learned from the mistakes and missteps of the past.  I talked about this a little in my last post, but I feel like I have a much better grip on what I want to do.  And sure, I know some of these things are going to push me past my “comfort zone,” but if I’m going to be serious about making changes in my life, I know that’s what it’s going to take.  Who knows, maybe this more proactive stance will make this the semester where things go the way I hope they will.

It all starts with a couple of steps in the right direction, and I’ve got a few more days to figure out just what those steps are going to be.

-Ben

Leave a Reply

 
