Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

New Toys

Posted by Ben on December 28, 2009

It’s been another busy week here at home, preparing for and then celebrating Christmas with the family.  I had asked for a couple of new accessories to go with my camera for Christmas and have had a lot of fun playing around with them so far.  The pictures below come from a drive my dad and I took through the country around Raleigh, specifically from a place called Perry’s Pond a little ways north of Zebulon.

One of my new toys was a Neutral Density (0.9) filter.  The two pictures below were shot at the same shutter speed (1/10 second), aperture (8.0), and ISO (200).  The one on the left is with a circular polarizing filter and the one on the right with the new ND filter.

The ND photo is exposed much better than the polarized one.  The filter basically works by reducing the amount of light (of all colors) that reaches the sensor.  It lets you use longer exposures even in daylight without overexposing most of the shot.  Here’s another shot of the dam with the ND filter (1/5 second this time):

I also got my hands on a copy of Photoshop CS4 Extended Student Edition.  I’ve really been wanting to play around with a copy of this for a long time now, just to see what I could do with it.  Here’s my first real attempt at modifying an image from the other night.  This was also taken out at Perry’s Pond.

I think it turned out pretty well (I know it’s not straight, but I liked it better this way 🙂 ).

In addition to these two things, I also got a nice full-size tripod, which I look forward to using.

Overall, it was a very nice Christmas.  It was good to see family and friends again, and I’m still enjoying being able to relax at home for a couple more weeks.  I’m definitely looking forward to going back to school, seeing all my friends again, but I’m not quite ready to get back to work yet.

-Ben

Leave a Reply

 
