Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

Thanks

Posted by Ben on November 28, 2009

I apologize in advance for this being such a long post with lots of pictures.

It’s that time of year again.  A time to take a good hard look at what, and more importantly, who, is important in your life.  I always enjoy Thanksgiving because I know that I’ll be able to spend time with all different parts of my family, and despite everyone’s little quirks, I always enjoy it.  I love my family deeply, and I hope they all know that, but I wanted to take the opportunity to say thanks to another group.  My friends at Tech have been like family to me for the past few years.

We’ve explored…

endured…

parted ways…

and come back together again.

Unfortunately, I don’t have a whole lot of pictures from freshman year.  But it was definitely a time of change for me.  Looking back, I feel like I spent way to much time stuck up in my room, playing video games or doing homework.  I didn’t spend nearly enough time getting to know all of the wonderful people around me.  I’m very thankful for the people that helped bring me out of my shell.  It was a transition, and I was on my way to becoming more open and outgoing.  I’m also thankful that someone dragged me along with her to salsa lessons one Monday night, even though I was sure I was going to hate it.

And along the way, we’ve cheered…

competed…

and performed.

We’ve built empires…

and plotted their destruction.

I feel like I really started to open up a lot more fall semester of Sophomore year.  I know for a fact that I had a lot of fun that semester, and got involved a lot more in things going on around the dorm.  I’m thankful for all of those people who really showed me what I had been missing from the whole “college” experience.  I made a lot of great new friends and pretty much had an awesome time.

And I know I’ve said it before, but that spring was pretty rough.  So I’m very thankful for the people who were always there for me, the ones who always seemed to be able to put a smile on my face, no matter how down I got.  There were definitely some good times in there too…

And there were a lot of people I was sad to see leave at the end of the year.

And this semester has definitely had its ups and downs.  But you guys have made it hard to stay down for long, and I am very thankful for that.

So, thanks again to everyone.  And I know there are a bunch of people who weren’t in any of these pictures that I owe a lot to as well (we just need to hang out more often 🙂 ).  I appreciate everything you guys have done to help me get through the last 2+ years, and I’m definitely looking forward to the next three semesters.

-Ben

Leave a Reply

 
