Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

Perseverence

Posted by Ben on November 17, 2009

In case you didn’t know, last night was supposedly the peak of the Leonid meteor shower for this year in North America.  Together with a group of about fifteen people from the dorm, we decided to go out into the cornfields by the cross country track last night around 1:30 to try to get a little farther away from the lights on campus and hopefully catch some cool looking meteors.  Unfortunately, when we got there, there were a lot of clouds out in the sky, with only a few patches of black sky peeking through.  After about twenty minutes, a couple of people gave up hope and headed back to campus.  Thankfully though, the sky did end up clearing a little bit and we were able to see a decent number of meteors.  It wasn’t spectacular, but it was definitely worth the time and those of us who stuck around all had a good time.

I’ve never really had a chance to try out any astro-photography before last night.  Unfortunately, I didn’t end up catching any meteors, but this one turned out pretty neatly and has some recognizable shapes in it.  Orion is pretty clear on the far left.  The “V” in the middle of the picture is the horns of Taurus, and the smaller cluster of stars just to the left of the “V” is the Pleiades.  The stars are a little blurry because I forgot to set the delay on the camera so that it wouldn’t start taking the exposure until after I had let go of it.  I guess I didn’t have the most stable of surfaces to mount my tripod on either, and I ended up wrapping it around the top of a narrow pole.

I know it’s been a while since my last post here, but I’ve been pretty busy over the last week (and for the rest of this week too).  This past weekend our salsa club took a trip down to Durham, N.C.   We danced into the wee hours of the morning both Friday and Saturday night, in addition to taking some really awesome lessons and watching some amazing performances on Saturday.  It was definitely the most fun I’ve had dancing in a long while, and I ended up meeting some really cool people.  Unfortunately, I’m having to play catch up on a couple of assignments that I wasn’t able to work on this weekend, but I’m definitely glad I went.

I’m still pretty stressed out about a lot of the work I’ve got looming over me, especially for my Systems class, and it doesn’t look like it’s going to be letting up significantly before the end of the semester.  But there’s not much I can do but just deal with it the best that I can.  Winter break isn’t too far away now, and it will definitely be a welcome respite.  Even with all of this work though, I feel like over the past few days I’ve managed to turn a couple of pretty significant (metaphorical) corners in my life, and things are starting to look up again for the first time in a good while. 🙂

-Ben

Leave a Reply

 
