Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

A Light at the End of the Tunnel

Posted by Ben on October 31, 2009

IMG_1923_trimmed

Those of you that know me here at Tech have probably noticed that I haven’t been around much the last week or so, or that when I have, I’ve been pretty stressed out.  I had a huge project for my Computing Systems class which I probably spent about 30 hours between Tuesday night and Friday night working on.  I also had a big test in my Real Analysis course Wednesday night.  That being said, it’s been a hectic week, and I haven’t had much time for anything fun, with the notable exception of teaching my first Salsa class Monday night.  Sometimes, I wonder exactly why I put so much pressure on myself to do so much, and I wonder if it’s really worth it or not.

But luckily all of that is behind me now, and things are starting to look up again, at least until we get our next project.  We had our annual Main Campbell Halloween party tonight which was a lot of fun, and luckily I was able to spend all afternoon working on a costume rather than on that project.  I’m also looking forward to a big salsa workshop tomorrow afternoon.

So, the title of the post has two meanings, the first from the way I feel after making it through the last week, the second from the effect of the shot itself.  It wasn’t actually taken through a tunnel, instead just through a poorly lit archway.  I really like the effect from the stone archway, a jagged frame for a nice scene.  It also turned out nicely that there wasn’t any light falling on this side of the arch as it gives it a really nice solid feel.  The scene through the arch also turned out really well.  The colors are nice and vibrant, and the sky isn’t completely blown out like I thought it might be when I took the shot.

Hopefully things will be getting back to normal during the next week or so, and I’ll be able to get back to doing a lot of the things I enjoy, hopefully both running and dancing again, not to mention taking some new pictures.

-Ben

Leave a Reply

 
