Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

The Colors of Fall

Posted by Ben on October 25, 2009

IMG_1958

Autumn in Blacksburg can be incredibly stunning.  When the weather cooperates and the temperatures climb into the 60’s it’s hard to keep me locked up indoors all day.  I spent most of the morning catching up on all the sleep I’ve missed this past week, and preparing for next week…After a couple of hours in the library churning out another essay for Professionalism and getting some proofs done for Discrete Math, I came back to the dorm and decided to go out and take some pictures of the beautiful fall colors.  This shot is from the other side of the duck pond, or at least the side I don’t usually take pictures from.  When I came back in from shooting and transferred the pictures from my camera, this one, more than any of the others took my breath away.  So many vivid colors just jumped off of the screen at me.

Like I said above, the colors in this shot were just amazing.  Unfortunately, the sky is washed out in the top right corner and there’s a little bit of lens flare along the right edge.  But those are my only real complaints about the way this turned out.  I maybe should have moved forward just a little to get that branch in the top left out of the picture.  I’d crop it, but then I’d lose most of the blue in the sky :|.  The water of the pond was fairly still for the amount of wind that was blowing this afternoon, but it lets you see pretty clear reflections of the trees around the shore.

I’m not sure how much time I’ll have for blogging this week, but I’ll try to post a picture or two, even if there’s not much of a post to go with it.

-Ben

3 Responses to “The Colors of Fall”

  1. amritaraja said

    That is a beautiful shot!

    I did some shots of autumn in Paris today, and it’s funny how similar the weather is – though there are some trees in the local park that I have never seen before…and I even shot a “duck pond” – though it’s nothing like the one at Tech.

    But one thing I’ve realized: the Drillfield is unique when it comes to public spaces in America – I often see Blacksburg families bringing their children and pets onto the field – even in Salem, my home-town, which is a very family-friendly town, the neighborhood park is not as frequently used by the locals. The parks here, in Paris, on the other hand, are filled with people of all ages…

    Anyhoo, keep up the good work. Looking forward to seeing more photos!

  2. Ursula said

    I am blown away by your incredible photos! As a live-in Carer here in England, I am fortunate enough to be staying on a farm full of trees, birds and wild life. Even a mill pond just around the corner. I have taken photos with my mobile of sunsets and sunrises. I also have a fairly good camera, BUT I just cannot get the effects of silhouettes as you have so successfully captured! What camera did you use?
    Congratulations on your prize winning beauties!
    From Ursula

  3. I blog often and I seriously appreciate your information. The article has really peaked my interest.
    I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new details about once
    a week. I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

Leave a Reply

 
