Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

Explosions of Color

Posted by Ben on October 15, 2009

IMG_1555_trim

IMG_1599_trim

IMG_1600_trim

This past Tuesday saw the unveiling of the design for the class ring for the class of 2011.  This was the 100th anniversary of the ring premiere ceremony.  After a ceremony in Burruss, they launched fireworks on the drillfield.  I was much better prepared for these fireworks than the last I tried to photograph during Thunder Over Louisville.  I set up with a tripod off to one side of the drillfield and waited for the show to begin.  All of these photos were taken with a shutter speed of between 3 and 4 seconds, something that I couldn’t do with my smaller camera.  The stability offered by the tripod was essential for such long exposures.  I really like the way the fireworks lit up the smoke in the background in the top photo.  I also really like the feathery appearance of the trails of light in the bottom picture.  I had been looking forward to the chance to take some fireworks pictures to test out the abilities of my camera, and am very pleased with the results.

I’d also like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who keeps coming to check out my pictures.  Sometime in the past couple of hours I reached 2000 hits on the blog!

-Ben

3 Responses to “Explosions of Color”

  1. These are great. I’ve always had problems taking photos of fireworks as well as night photography in general. Yours are super! Good luck.

  2. wildstorm said

    These are good shots. I have not done any fireworks photography. And thank you so much for your visit to my page.

Leave a Reply

 
