Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

A Golden Haze

Posted by Ben on September 3, 2009

IMG_0554_trim

Well…my wrists have gotten better enough so that I can at least hold my camera again, not quite in the correct grip, but it gets the job done.  I went out after dinner tonight for a walk around campus and to take some pictures.  I’ve seen in a lot of places where photographers refer to the hour or so before sunset or after sunrise as the “golden hour.”  There are two reasons for this, the first is that the lighting at the end of the day is often ideal for shooting, creating great contrast and shadows in pictures.  The second, which is fairly evident in the picture above is that the setting (or rising) sun casts a golden color over the landscape, which also makes for some really cool photos.

This shot is taken from the edge of the cornfields out past the duck pond looking towards the horse barn.  Between where I’m standing and the landscape in the distance is a gravel road.  My theory is that there had been a good number of vehicles on the road kicking up dust into the air.  It’s this dust that is catching the sunlight so nicely and looking like a golden mist floating above the ground.

After uploading the pictures from tonight to my computer, I cropped this one just a little to remove a nasty sun flare in the top left corner.  I think the trees on either side of the photo and the bushes at the bottom frame the distant landscape really nicely here.  The sky is really washed out, but I was shooting almost directly into the sun, so it was hard to avoid I’m afraid.

As I was making my way back to the dorm, I happened to notice off to the right that a full moon was just starting to rise.  As I rounded the last corner past the duck pond, I saw a really neat shot with the moon, still pretty big since it was low on the horizon.  It looked like it was being cradled in a slight dip in the treeline.  This is zoomed in the full 20x:

IMG_0570

-Ben

4 Responses to “A Golden Haze”

  1. wildstorm said

    Excellent.

  2. Dayna said

    This is amazing Ben! I love them!

Leave a Reply

 
