Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

A Leap of Faith

Posted by Ben on August 31, 2009

IMG_0325_cropped

This is another photo from our community trip to the Cascades last weekend.  This shot comes from the waterfall that gives the Cascades park its name.  The mountain stream feeding the falls and the pool below it is frigid, even in August.  And while most people look forward to cooling off after the hike, the numbing cold of the water is pretty extreme.  In my three years of experience now, I’ve found the best idea is simply to jump in and get the shock out of the way quickly.  I managed to get a pretty good shot of a group of community members jumping off the base of the falls into the pool.

There’s a lot of energy in this shot.  You’ve got the ones in front leaping into the air, the ones to the left just getting ready to make the jump, and, in my opinion coolest, the waterfall behind them all.  I was surprised how clearly this picture came out.  It was taken at about 8x zoom (from across the pool) while I was hand-holding the camera, so either my hands were remarkably steady for this, or the Image Stabilization feature of the camera works wonders.  According to my camera, this was taken with a shutter speed of about 1/400th of a second, quick enough to freeze the motion of the jumpers and a good portion of the waterfall.  Seeing the falls frozen like this as opposed to a blurry time-lapse shot emphasizes to me just how much water is actually coming over the falls, the power with which it’s moving, and it’s really neat to be able to pick out individual drops of water coming down.

In more personal news, after my post last night, I decided to go out and play some ultimate frisbee.  Unfortunately, I took a pretty hard fall during the game and tried (unconsciously) to break my fall with my hands, which was a mistake.  I went to the health center on campus this morning where I had some x-rays taken of both wrists.  Luckily, they couldn’t find any fractures in the wrist, but my left wrist was put into a splint for protection.  And while I’m glad that there weren’t any fractures, I’m pretty bummed that I’m going to be out of commission for a few weeks.  The splint pretty much knocks me out of frisbee, dancing, and running for a while.  Also, I can’t really hold my camera very well, so there probably won’t be any new pictures for two weeks or so.  I’ll probably try to go back through my archives to find some more cool ones to post for the coming days.

-Ben

One Response to “A Leap of Faith”

  1. Susan Reid said

    Hang in there kid! Great pictures

Leave a Reply

 
