Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

Making up for lost time

Posted by Ben on August 30, 2009

Well…my estimate for the amount of free time I would have this past week turned out to be a little too optimistic.  I had forgotten just how much time homework really takes in 4000 level math courses.  But, while I haven’t had time to update the blog this past week, I have been trying to get out and take pictures in order to break in some of my new equipment.  Since arriving at school, I’ve gotten a new GorillaPod flexible tripod, a UV filter, a circular polarizing filter, and an adapter that attaches to the front of the camera to use these new filters.  That being said, here are some of my shots from around Blacksburg this past week:

IMG_0066

Taken one evening out at the duck pond.  Roughly a 15x zoom from the edge of the lake.  I really like the clarity of the ripples on the water around the duck and how you can see them spreading out from the center.

IMG_0144

Also taken at the duck pond, but on a different evening.  Looking out towards the golf course from the far bank of the pond.  I think the colors and the reflection are awesome in this shot.

IMG_0389

Great Blue Heron down in the duck pond at about 20x.  This was one of the first shots taken with the new tripod (I had it wrapped around a rock).  I had to use a pretty long shutter speed for this one because of the low light.  It was a tricky shot, but I learned where the delayed shutter release controls are.

IMG_0424_saturated

Sunset taken from the fire escape.  Nice color and a little bit of symmetry along the horizon in the middle.

Sorry there’s not much in the way of insightful comments on these pictures, but more should be on the way soon.

-Ben

Leave a Reply

 
