Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

A Distant Peak

Posted by Ben on August 13, 2009

IMG_2568

Short post tonight…I’m kinda tired, but still wanted to put up a picture.

This one comes from the trip to Switzerland, and is the view from near the summit of Monte Generoso, one of the mountains overlooking the town of Riva San Vitale and Lake Lugano.  This is looking in the other direction however.  From the valley floor, all you could see were clear blue skies, but once we got to the top of the mountain, we were able to see almost a wall of clouds, some of them fairly large thunderheads, coming towards us.

There are a bunch of things I like about this picture.  When I was taking it, my subject was definitely the mountain peak in the center of the frame.  Looking at it now though, I feel like it’s one of the least interesting parts of the picture.  Above and to the left of the peak, there are nice, clear, blue skies and puffy white clouds.  In the upper right, slightly more threatening looking clouds, casting shadows on some of the closer parts of the landscape.  The color of the mountains closer to me are also a very nice rich green, which I think is emphasized even more since they are partially covered in shadows.  In the more immediate foreground are the two buildings and the people sitting at a table.  It seems like while the eye might go immediately to the peak in the center, it would soon be drawn away to the more colorful and vibrant parts of the picture.  Though some might consider the picture too “busy,” I personally like the effect and that I was able to get so many interesting things into a single shot.

My new camera came in the mail Tuesday, but I’ve been too busy the last few days to really get a chance to play with it.  More comments on the camera once that happens.

-Ben

One Response to “A Distant Peak”

  1. kim said

    Awesome photo! Could I use it for a value assignment?

Leave a Reply

 
