Ben's Photo Blog

Photos from my various adventures

Spring Blooms

Posted by Ben on August 1, 2009

P5132233

This picture comes from a walk I took with my former roommate Harold at the end of my Sophomore year.  We had just finished feeding the ducks and decided to walk all the way around the duckpond.  Overall, the walk was a great thing.  I had never really walked around the far side of the duckpond, and we got a chance to talk about a lot of different things.  I know I’m really going to miss having him around next semester, but maybe he’ll come down for a visit sometime (hint hint if you’re reading this Harold…).  If my incredibly vast knowledge of flora (I can never be sure how well sarcasm comes across in my writing) serves me right, these are a bunch of newly bloomed dogwood flowers.  I’m more used to seeing white ones back home.

Not too much to say about this one artistically or stylistically.  I really like the way this one came out.  It’s neat to see how the focus drops away gradually as you move from the front of the picture to the back, and it’s hard to tell the flowers from the regular leaves towards the top center of the shot.  I’m not sure if more light would have made this a better shot or not.  It would have made for some interesting shadows falling across some of the flowers, but I think I might like the way the colors turned out pretty evenly here instead.

-Ben

Leave a Reply

 
